State Relations Officers

The MASU State Relations Committee is the most active among the association’s committees. Meeting bi-weekly when the Michigan Legislature is in session, the State Relations Officers (SROs) anticipate, execute and respond to an ever-evolving state budgetary and policy landscape. The SRO Committee provides acute attention to matters involving state higher education funding and fiscal policy, especially involving state university operating support, student financial aid, and campus capital outlay (building construction and renovation). The SROs analyze and communicate their institutions’ positions on dozens of bills introduced each year that affect the state universities and the students they serve; doing so individually and collectively in partnership with MASU staff. As the most ever-present state university advocates in Lansing, the SROs work with legislators and other state government leaders to promote policies and funding priorities that enable the universities to meet state needs and goals. Committee members also work with MASU to communicate with selected members of Congress regarding higher education matters, especially those pertaining to federal student financial aid.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the SRO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting the state’s public universities. Contemporary higher education issues and trends are examined through the lens of state relations officers, with strategic consideration given to such factors as college access and affordability, academic quality, institutional accountability, higher education and the public good, and public-private partnerships.

State Relations Officers

Central Michigan University
Toby Roth, Interim Vice President of Governmental & External Relations
Bovee University Center 306
Mt. Pleasant , MI 48859
(989) 774-3871
rothj1t@cmich.edu

Megan Morris, Government Relations Associate
Michigan
(989) 774-4000
gill1mm@cmich.edu
Eastern Michigan University
Vicki Reaume, Vice President and Secretary to the Board of Regents
207 Welch Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-2410
vreaume@emich.edu

Chad Wing, Director, State Relations
207 Welch Hall
Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197
(734) 487-7048
cwing1@emich.edu
Ferris State University
Miles Postema, Vice President and General Counsel
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-3894
postemam@ferris.edu

Grand Valley State University
Matthew E. McLogan, Vice President for University Relations
17 Zumberge Library
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2190
mcloganm@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University
Steve Betz, Government Relations Officer
650 W. Easterday Avenue
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906) 635-2020
sbetz1@lssu.edu

Michigan State University
Dr. Kathy Wilbur, Executive Vice President for Government and External Relations
Office of Governmental Affairs Hannah Administration Bldg., Rm. 484
426 Auditorium
East Lansing, MI 48824-1046
(517) 353-9000
schlage6@msu.edu

David W. Bertram, Associate Vice President for State Affairs
Hannah Administration Bldg., Rm. 484
426 Auditorium
East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1046
(517) 353-3228
dbertram@msu.edu
Michigan Technological University
Bill Kordenbrock, Vice President for Government Relations
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 281-2653
billk@mtu.edu

Dr. John Lehman, Vice President for University Relations and Enrollment
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, Michigan 49931
(906) 487-1832
jblehman@mtu.edu
Northern Michigan University
R. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration
1401 Presque Isle Avenue - 502 Cohodas Administration Center
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-2200
gleach@nmu.edu

Deanna K. Hemmila, Executive Director of Government Relations
603 Cohodas Hall
Marquette, Michigan 49855
(906) 227-2637
dhemmila@nmu.edu
Oakland University
Rochelle Black, Vice President for Government and Community Relations
117 Wilson Hall
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-4630
black@oakland.edu

Bonnie Bochniak, State Relations Director
110 W. Michigan Avenue, Suite 600
Lansing, Michigan 48933-1681
(517) 702-3368
bonniemaluchnik@oakland.edu
Saginaw Valley State University
John Kaczynski, Director, Governmental Affairs
SVSU Main Campus
Wickes Hall 346
MI
(989) 964-7481
jlkaczyn@svsu.edu

University of Michigan
Cynthia Wilbanks, Vice President for Government Relations
503 Thompson Street
Fleming Administration Building
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340
(734) 763-5554
wilbanks@umich.edu

Rebecca DeVooght, State Relations Director (Chair)

(734) 763-5554
devooghr@umich.edu
University of Michigan - Dearborn
Ken Kettenbeil, Vice Chancellor for External Relations
University of Michigan-Dearborn
4901 Evergreen Rd. 1130 AB
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 593-5518
kketten@umich.edu

University of Michigan - Flint
Mia McNeil, Director of Government and Community Affairs
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 424-5448
miamc@umich.edu

Wayne State University
Patrick O. Lindsey, Vice President for Government and Community Affairs
4155 Faculty Administration Building
656 West Kirby
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4228
patrick.lindsey@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University
Jeff Breneman, Vice President for Government Relations
1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5247
(269) 387-2072
jeff.breneman@wmich.edu

Katie John, Assistant Vice President for Legislative Affairs
1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49008-5247
(269) 387-3606
katie.john@wmich.edu