Graduate School Deans

The MASU Graduate School Deans (GSD) Committee consists of the deans or directors of graduate education at Michigan’s public universities. Graduate education, that which takes place after the bachelor’s degree, is primarily the domain of the public universities in Michigan. Students develop from consumers of knowledge to producers of knowledge in graduate education, so the GSDs serve as a key link among academics, scholarship, and research.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the GSD Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the lens of graduate education, such as increasing graduate school enrollment and affordability, strengthening and growing graduate program offerings, furthering the role of graduate degree attainment in economic development, and enhancing career options for graduate students. The GSDs provide local and statewide leadership on these issues and others that involve graduate education.

Graduate School Deans

Central Michigan University
Dr. Jennifer Schisa, Interim Director of Graduate Studies
212 Warriner Hall
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-3810

Eastern Michigan University
Dr. Steve Pernecky, Interim Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies and Research
200 Boone Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-0042

Ferris State University
Dr. Steve Reifert, Dean of Extended and International Operations
1201 S. State
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-2340

Grand Valley State University
Dr. Jeffrey Potteiger (Chair), Dean, Graduate School
310 DeVos Center
401 W. Fulton Street
Grand Rapids, MI 49504
(616) 331-7105

Michigan State University
Dr. Pero Dagbovie, Associate Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and Dean of the Graduate School
466 W. Circle Dr. 2nd floor
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 353-3220

Michigan Technological University
Dr. Will Cantrell, Associate Provost & Dean of the Graduate School
1400 Townsend Drive
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931-1295
(906) 487-3007

Northern Michigan University
Dr. Lisa Eckert, Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
1401 Presque Isle
Marquette, MI 49855-5301
(906) 227-1291

Oakland University
Dr. Brandy Randall, Dean of the Graduate School
O'Dowd Hall, Room 520
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 586 Pioneer Drive
(248) 370-2700

Saginaw Valley State University
Jennifer K. Pahl, Director of Admissions
Wickes Hall 334
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 964-7331

University of Michigan
Dr. Mike Solomon, Vice Provost and Dean of Rackham Graduate School
2800 Plymouth Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 764-3119

University of Michigan - Dearborn
Dr. Armen Zakarian, Dean of Graduate Studies
4901 Evergreen
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 593-5621

University of Michigan - Flint
Dr. Christopher Lewis, Director of Graduate Programs
303 East Kearsley Street
251 Thompson Library
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 762-3171

Wayne State University
Dr. Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, Dean, Graduate School
259 Mack Avenue
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-2172

Western Michigan University
Dr. Christine Byrd-Jacobs, Dean Graduate College
1903 W. Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 387-8208

Advanced Search