Communications Officers

The MASU Chief Communications Officers (CCO) Committee consists of the chief officers at Michigan’s public universities responsible for university communications, public and media relations, marketing, and brand strategy. Included in this committee’s portfolio are all strategic communications topics, including media relationships, marketing, social media utilization, and crisis communications. The CCO committee meets as a gathering of professionals, many of whom are former journalists and reporters, to collaborate on issues of common interest, learn from one another, and share best practices in public higher education communications.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CCO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the perspective of communications officers, with particular attention paid to such issues as university trust and transparency, the shifting media landscape, helping the public understand the value of higher education, recruiting efforts, and connecting relevant research with the public.

Communications Officers

Central Michigan University
John Veilleux, Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer
305 W. Hopkins Court
West Hall
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-6107
veill1jm@cmich.edu

Heather Smith, Director of Communications
305 W. Hopkins Court
West Hall
Mt. Pleasant, Michigan 48859
(989) 774-1702
heather.smith@cmich.edu
Eastern Michigan University
Walter Kraft, Vice President of Communications
102 Welch Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-6895
walter.kraft@emich.edu

Geoff Larcom, Executive Director, Media Relations
18 Welch Hall
Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197
(734) 487-4401
glarcom@emich.edu
Ferris State University
Shelly Pearcy, Vice President for University Advancement and Marketing
420 Oak Street
Prakken Building 101
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-2021
ShellyPearcy@ferris.edu

Sandy Gholston, News Services and Social Media Manager
420 Oak Street
Prakken Building 108
Big Rapids, Michigan 49307
(231) 591-2065
sandygholston@ferris.edu
Grand Valley State University
Mary Eilleen Lyon, Associate Vice President for News and Information Services
260 Lake Michigan Hall
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2221
lyonme@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University
Fred A. Pierce III, Director of Admissions & Marketing
650 W. Easterday Avenue
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906) 635-2674
fpierce@lssu.edu

Michigan State University
Emily Guerrant, Vice President and University Spokesperson
405 Olds hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-2281
emilyg@msu.edu

Heather S. Swain, Vice President for Communications and Brand Strategy
405 Olds Hall
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
(517) 355-7958
heather.swain@cabs.msu.edu
Michigan Technological University
Stefanie Sidortsova, Director of Communications and Public Relations
1400 Townsend Drive
Administration Building
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-1777
ssidorts@mtu.edu

Ian Repp, Director of University Marketing and Communications
1400 Townsend Drive
Administration Building
Houghton, Michigan 49931
(906) 487-2354
irepp@mtu.edu
Northern Michigan University
Kristi Evans, News Director
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-2720
kevans@nmu.edu

Derek Hall, Chief Marketing Officer
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, Michigan 49855
(906) 227-2716
halld@nmu.edu
Oakland University
Brian Bierley, Director of Media Relations
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-4346
bierley@oakland.edu

John O. Young, Associate Vice President
2200 N. Squirrel Road
Rochester, Michigan 48309
(248) 370-2946
joyoung@oakland.edu
Saginaw Valley State University
J.J. Boehm, Interim Executive Director of University Communications
389 Wickes Hall
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 964-4055
jjboehm@svsu.edu

University of Michigan
Kallie Michels, Vice President for Communications
503 Thompson Street
2028 Fleming Administration Building
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 763-5800
kallie@umich.edu

Rick Fitzgerald, Executive Vice President for Public Affairs
503 Thompson Street
1022 Fleming Administration Building
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109
(734) 615-1563
rickfitz@umich.edu
University of Michigan - Dearborn
Beth Marmarelli, Director, Communications and Marketing
4901 Evergreen Road
1040 AB
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 593-5542
bethmar@umich.edu

Ken Kettenbeil, Vice Chancellor for External Relations
4901 Evergreen Rd. 1040 AB
Dearborn, Michigan 48128-2406
(313) 593-5518
kketten@umich.edu
University of Michigan - Flint
Jennifer Hogan, Director
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 762-3436
jhogan@umich.edu

Wayne State University
Matt Lockwood, Director of Communications
3100 Academic/Administration Building
5700 Cass Avenue Detroit
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-9098
mlockwood@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University
Tony Proudfoot, Vice President for Marketing and Strategic Communications
1903 W. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 387-8412
tony.proudfoot@wmich.edu

Paula Davis, Executive Director of University Relations
1903 W. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49008
(269) 387-8411
paula.davis@wmich.edu

Advanced Search