Diversity Officers

The MASU Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) Committee is comprised of the executives on campus that are responsible for ensuring diversity, equity, and inclusion is a realized priority on each campus. One of MASU’s newest committees, the CDOs are dedicated to creating public university campuses that look like Michigan and where all have opportunities for success. At their meetings, the committee engages in peer discussions of case studies, programming, and support for students and faculty.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CDO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the lens of diversity officers, with particular attention paid to campus climate and safety, student and personnel development, and judicial and administrative rulings.

Diversity Officers

Central Michigan University
Dr. Shawna Patterson-Stephens, Vice President/Chief Diversity Officer
319 Warriner Hall
1200 S. Franklin Street
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-3700

Eastern Michigan University
Dwight K. Hamilton, J.D., Chief Diversity Officer
Student Center, Room 348
900 Oakwood
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-7636

Ferris State University
Dr. David Pilgrim, Vice President
Diversity and Inclusion Office
1201 S. State Street, CSS 312
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-3946

Grand Valley State University
Dr. Jesse M. Bernal, Vice President for Inclusion and Equity
4035 James H. Zumberge Hall
1 Campus Drive
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-3296

Lake Superior State University
Anya Alexander, DEI Officer
Campus Life and Housing Room 125, Norris Center
BS 2014
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906) 635-2676

Michigan State University
Dr. Jabbar Bennett, Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer
Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives
Olds Hall 408 W. Circle Drive, Room 114
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 353-3924

Michigan Technological University
Dr. Wayne Gersie, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
502 Administration Building
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-1585

Northern Michigan University
Shawnrece Campbell, Assistant Vice President Diversity & Inclusion
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-1703

Oakland University
Glenn McIntosh, Vice President for Student Affairs
150 Oakland Center
312 Meadow Brook Rd.
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-4200

Saginaw Valley State University
Dr. Mamie T. Thorns, (Chair) Chief Diversity Officer and Special Assistant to the President for Diversity Programs
Office of Diversity Programs
Wickes Hall 260C, 7400 Bay Road
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 964-4068

University of Michigan
Dr. Tabbye Chavous, Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion & Chief Diversity Officer
Office for Health Equity and Inclusion
Third Floor, Office 3084, 503 Thompson Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 764-3982

University of Michigan - Dearborn
Keisha Blevins, Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor to the Chancellor/Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
1070 Administration Center
4901 Evergreen Road
Dearborn, MI 48128-1491
(313) 593-5500

University of Michigan - Flint
Dr. David J. Luke, Director, Intercultural Center
115 University Center
303 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 762-3045

Wayne State University
Dr. Donyale Padgett, Interim Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
4228 FAB, 656 W.Kirby
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-2200

Western Michigan University
Candy McCorkle, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
1903 West Michigan Avenue
MS 5372
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5204
(269) 387-6313

Advanced Search