Diversity Officers

The MASU Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) Committee is comprised of the executives on campus that are responsible for ensuring diversity, equity, and inclusion is a realized priority on each campus. One of MASU’s newest committees, the CDOs are dedicated to creating public university campuses that look like Michigan and where all have opportunities for success. At their meetings, the committee engages in peer discussions of case studies, programming, and support for students and faculty.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CDO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the lens of diversity officers, with particular attention paid to campus climate and safety, student and personnel development, and judicial and administrative rulings.

Diversity Officers

Central Michigan University
Dr. A.T. Miller, Vice President & Chief Diversity Officer
MI
(989) 774-3700
a.t.miller@cmich.edu

Eastern Michigan University
Sharon Abraham, Director
Office of Diversity & Affirmative Action
MI
(734) 487-1166
sharon.abraham@emich.edu

Steve Bryant, Director
Department of Diversity & Community Involvement
Michigan
(734) 487-6790
sbryan16@emich.edu
Ferris State University
Dr. David Pilgrim, Vice President
Diversity and Inclusion Office
MI
(231) 591-3946
pilgrimd@ferris.edu

Grand Valley State University
Dr. Jesse M. Bernal, (Chair) Vice President for Inclusion and Equity
MI
(616) 331-3296
bernalje@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University
Derric Knight, Assistant Director of Housing and Diversity Officer
Campus Life
MI
(906) 635-6244
dknight@lssu.edu

Michigan State University
Paulette Granberry Russell, Sr. Advisor to the President for Diversity and Director
Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives
MI
(517) 353-3924
prussell@msu.edu

Michigan Technological University
Dr. Audrey Mayer, Assistant to the Provost for Academic Equity and Inclusion
MI
(906) 487-2864
almayer@mtu.edu

Northern Michigan University
Dr. Jessica Cruz, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
MI
(906) 227-2000
jecruz@nmu.edu

Oakland University
Glenn McIntosh, Vice President for Student Affairs
150 Oakland Center
312 Meadow Brook Rd.
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-4200
mcintosh@oakland.edu

Saginaw Valley State University
Dr. Mamie T. Thorns, Chief Diversity Officer and Special Assistant to the President for Diversity Programs
Office of Diversity Programs
MI
(989) 964-4068
mtthorns@svsu.edu

University of Michigan
Dr. David J. Brown, Associate Vice President and Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusion
Office for Health Equity and Inclusion
MI
(734) 764-8185
ohei@umich.edu

Dr. Robert Sellers, Vice Provost for Equity, Inclusion, and Chief Diversity Officer
Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Michigan
(734) 764-3982
rsellers@umich.edu
University of Michigan - Dearborn
Dr. Ann Lampkin-Williams, Special Counsel to the Chancellor for Inclusion and Strategic Projects
Office of the Chancellor
MI
(313) 593-5321
lampkin@umich.edu

University of Michigan - Flint
Dr. David J. Luke, Director
Intercultural Center
MI
(810) 762-3045
djluke@umflint.edu

Wayne State University
Marquita Chamblee, Associate Provost, Diversity & Inclusion, Chief Diversity Officers
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
MI
(313) 577-2200
mtchamblee@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University
Candy McCorkle, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
MI
(269) 387-6313
candy.s.mccorkle@wmich.edu

Advanced Search