Extended Education and Professional Development

The MASU Extended Education and Professional Development (EEPD) Committee represents one of the most innovative functions of public universities. These entrepreneurial officers are engaged in bringing education to groups beyond the “traditional” 18-22 year old student – working adults, online learners, retirees, and lifelong learners of all sorts. The EEPD Committee directs its attention to matters involving many topics in continuing education, including such issues as credentialing and educational attainment, workforce alignment, corporate partnerships, online learning, and regional competitiveness. In many ways, the EEPDs are the futurists of the academy.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the EEPD Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Contemporary higher education topics and trends are examined through the lens of extended education and professional development, with strategic consideration given to such factors as automation, innovation and educational technology, alignment between the academy and the workforce, and demographic change.

Extended Education and Professional Development

Central Michigan University
Al Zainea, Director of Academic and Professional Programs
195 Ojibway Ct.
EHS 486
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-3616
zaine1aa@cmich.edu

Eastern Michigan University
Colleen Marks, Director, Graduate Admissions
Off Campus, Extended Programs
246 McKenny Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-3691
cmarks@emich.edu

Bill Jones, Director
Instructional Technology and Information Management
101 Boone Hall, Room G01A
Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197
(734) 487-9043
wjones20@emich.edu
Ferris State University
Steve Reifert, Dean
Extended & International Operations
410 Oak Street, Alumni 117
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-2548
stevereifert@ferris.edu

Justin Faris, Director Capital Area Region
Lansing Community College University Center
210 W. Shiawassee
Lansing, Michigan 48901-7210
(517) 483-9723
justinfaris@ferris.edu
Grand Valley State University
Dr. Simone Jonaitis, Executive Director
301 West Fulton, 718 Eberhard Center
Grand Rapids, MI 49504
(616) 331-7360
jonaitis@gvsu.edu

Melissa Peraino, (Chair) Director
Educational Outreach for the Center for Adult and Continuing Studies
718 Eberhard Center, 301 W. Fulton Street
Grand Rapids, Michigan 49504
(616) 331-7180
perainom@gvsu.edu
Michigan State University
Kimberly Blair Chambers, Associate Registrar
180 Administration Building
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-9675
blairch4@msu.edu

Gerald S. Rhead, Director, Academic Entrepreneurship
Global Learning Solutions, Kellogg Center
1407 S. Harrison Road 301 Nisbet Building Room 312 C
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
(517) 432-9186
rhead@msu.edu
Michigan Technological University
Chad Arney , Director of Strategic Initiatives
219 Van Pelt and Opie Library
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI, 49931
(906) 487-4321
caarney@mtu.edu
Michigan
Michigan Technological University
Chad Arney , Director of Strategic Initiatives
219 Van Pelt and Opie Library
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-4321
caarney@mtu.edu
Michigan
Northern Michigan University
Steve VandenAvond, Vice President for Extended Learning and Community Engagement
Cohodas Hall 603
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-6767
svanden@nmu.edu

Oakland University
Lori Crose, Director
440 J. Pawley Hall
456 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(248) 370-4861
llcrose@oakland.edu

Saginaw Valley State University
Susan Brasseur, Director
Continuing Education and External Project Management
7400 Bay Road, Hall 204
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 964-6016
brasseur@svsu.edu

David Bell, Associate Director of Entrepreneurship, Experiential Learning and
Continuing Education
7400 Bay Road
University Center, Michigan 48710
989-964-6073
dbell@svsu.edu
University of Michigan
Noni Korf, Director
Learning Experience Design & Media, Office of Academic Innovation
500 E. Washington, Suite B
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2057
(734) 763-2900
korf@umich.edu

Wayne State University
Dr. Ahmad Ezzeddine, Associate Vice President
Educational Outreach and International Programs
5057 Woodward Ave., Suite 3101
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4450
a.m.ezzeddine@wayne.edu

Michael Kelly, Associate Director
Executive & Professional Development
5057 Woodward Ave., Suite 3101
Detroit, Michigan 48202
(313) 577-6581
michael.kelly9@wayne.edu
Western Michigan University
Dr. Ed Martini, Associate Provost/Extended University Programs
1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 48808
(269) 387-4202
edwin.martini@wmich.edu

Andrew Holmes, Executive Director of Technology
1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, Michigan 48008
(269) 387-4198
andrew.holmes@wmich.edu

Advanced Search