Accreditation Liaison Officers

The MASU Accreditation Liaison Officers (ALO) Committee consists of the chief officers at Michigan’s public universities responsible engaging with accreditation bodies, the non-profit groups that evaluate universities to ensure they are providing a quality education. Accreditation can be provided at the university-wide level, done in Michigan by the Higher Learning Commission, or at individual program levels, such as engineering, nursing, or law. At their meetings, ALOs discuss how best to prepare for a site visit by accreditors, how to measure and define learning, and how to use the finding of the accreditation process to improve the academic mission.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the ALO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the perspective of ALOs, with particular attention paid to such issues as learning outcomes, institutional effectiveness, demonstrating the value of a degree, and curricular relevance.

Accreditation Liaison Officers

Central Michigan University
Julia Johnson, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
112 Warriner
Mount Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 744-1918

Eastern Michigan University
Position Vacant, Assistant Vice President and Executive Director, Institutional Research and Information Management
401 E. Pierce Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-4924

Ferris State University
Mandy R. Seiferlein, Interim Associate Provost of Assessment & Accreditation
1201 S. State Street
CSS 310
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 408-2326

Grand Valley State University
Chris Plouff, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs, Assessment, Accreditation & Planning
3090 James H. Zumberge Hall
1 Campus Drive
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2400

Lake Superior State University
Dr. Gail Essmaker, Vice Provost for Accreditation and Assessment
650 W. Easterday Avenue
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906) 635-2278

Michigan State University
Dr. Thomas D. Jeitschko, Associate Provost for Graduate Education
466 W. Circle Drive
Room 212
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-3220

Kelly Funk, Director Academic Assessment, Program Review, and Accreditation
426 Auditorium Road
Room 221
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
(517) 353-0661
Michigan Technological University
Alexandria Guth, Director of Academic Accreditation and Compliance
509A Administration Building
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-2097

Northern Michigan University
Dr. Daniel Cullen, Associate Director for Accreditation & Assessment
1400 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855-5301
(906) 227-2378

Oakland University
Anne Hitt, Associate Provost
371 Wilson Boulevard
Wilson Hall, Room 205
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-3804

Saginaw Valley State University
Nick Wagner, Director of Institutional Research
7400 Bay Road
Gilbertson Hall-North Wing 275
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 964-2468

University of Michigan
Dilip Das, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
503 Thompson Street
Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 764-3982

University of Michigan - Dearborn
Jessica LaGrange, Academic Success Coordinator
4901 Evergreen Road
Office of the Provost
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 583-6645

University of Michigan - Flint
Dr. Stephen W. Turner, Interim Associate Provost and Dean of Graduate Programs
303 East Kearsley Street
251 Thompson Library
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 762-3171

Wayne State University
Dr. Darin Ellis, Associate Provost for Academic Programs
656 W. Kirby
4228 Faculty Administration Building
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-0167

Western Michigan University
Dr. Andrew Holmes, Director of University Accreditation Accreditation Liaison Officer
1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5200
(269) 387-4198

Advanced Search