Chief Information Officers

The MASU Chief Information Officers (CIO) Committee consists of the senior information technology officers at Michigan public universities. Under this committee’s jurisdiction are all technological topics, including academic and research technology, student support technologies, communications, data security, daily operations, customer support, revenue streams, and industry partnerships. The CIO committee meets as a gathering of professionals to learn from one another and share best practices in public higher education IT administration.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CIO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the perspective of information technology officers, with particular attention paid to such issues as threat prevention and security, transparency and accountability, talent recruitment and retention, federal and state regulations, and industry standards.

Chief Information Officers

Central Michigan University
Roger Rehm, Chief Information Officer
Warriner Hall 208
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-1474
roger.rehm@cmich.edu

Eastern Michigan University
Ron Woody, Chief Information Officer
127 Pray-Harrold
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-1491
rwoody@emich.edu

Ferris State University
Ralph Williams, Interim Chief Technology Officer
123 West Building
330 Oak Street
Big Rapids, MI 48307
(231) 591-2138
ralphwilliams@ferris.edu

Grand Valley State University
Sue Korzinek, Korzinek
D-2-Mackinac Hall
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2035
korzines@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University
John Kawauchi, Vice President of Enrollment Management, Marketing & IT
650 W. Easterday Avenue
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906) 635-2674
jkawauchi@lssu.edu

Michigan State University
Fred Sudler, Acting Chief Information Officer
450 Auditorium Road
Room 400
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 353-0722
cio@msu.edu

Northern Michigan University
David Maki, Chief Technology Officer
9E Cohodas Hall
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-1262
dmaki@nmu.edu

Northern Michigan University
Josh Olson, Chief Information Officer
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-1217
jolson@mtu.edu

Oakland University
Theresa Rowe, Chief Information Officer
118 Library Drive
220 Dodge Hall
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-4326
rowe@oakland.edu

Saginaw Valley State University
Jim Maher, Executive Director Information Technology Services
740 Bay Road
Wickes Hall 363
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 694-2222
jmmaher@svsu.edu

University of Michigan
Dr. Ravi Pendse, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
503 Thompson Street
5008 Fleming Building
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 764-4262
rpendse@umich.edu

University of Michigan - Dearborn
Carrie Shumaker, Interim Director of IT Strategy and Operations
4901 Evergreen Road
1140 Computing Wing
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 593-5113
shumakr@umich.edu

University of Michigan - Flint
Scott Arnst, Director Information Technology Services
303 E. Kearsley Street
207 Murchie Science Building
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 762-3123
sarnst@umflint.edu

Wayne State University
Daren Hubbard, Director Information Technology Services
5925 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-9489
daren@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University
Thomas Wolf Jr., Chief Technology Officer
1903 West Michigan Avenue
MS5206
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 387-3855
tom.wolf@wmich.edu

Advanced Search