State Relations Officers

The MASU State Relations Committee is the most active among the association’s committees. Meeting bi-weekly when the Michigan Legislature is in session, the State Relations Officers (SROs) anticipate, execute and respond to an ever-evolving state budgetary and policy landscape. The SRO Committee provides acute attention to matters involving state higher education funding and fiscal policy, especially involving state university operating support, student financial aid, and campus capital outlay (building construction and renovation). The SROs analyze and communicate their institutions’ positions on dozens of bills introduced each year that affect the state universities and the students they serve; doing so individually and collectively in partnership with MASU staff. As the most ever-present state university advocates in Lansing, the SROs work with legislators and other state government leaders to promote policies and funding priorities that enable the universities to meet state needs and goals. Committee members also work with MASU to communicate with selected members of Congress regarding higher education matters, especially those pertaining to federal student financial aid. 

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the SRO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting the state’s public universities. Contemporary higher education issues and trends are examined through the lens of state relations officers, with strategic consideration given to such factors as college access and affordability, academic quality, institutional accountability, higher education and the public good, and public-private partnerships. 


Central Michigan University

Toby Roth, Director of Governmental Relations
Bovee University Center 306
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-3871
rothj1t@cmich.edu


Megan Morris, Government Relations Associate

(989) 774-4000

gill1mm@cmich.edu


Eastern Michigan University

Vicki Reaume, Vice President and Secretary to the Board of Regents

207 Welch Hall

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

(734) 487-2410

vreaume@emich.edu


Chad Wing, Director, State Relations

207 Welch Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-7048
cwing1@emich.edu

Ferris State University
Miles Postema, Vice President and General Counsel
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-3894
postemam@ferris.edu

Grand Valley State University
Matthew E. McLogan, Vice President for University Relations
17 Zumberge Library
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2190
mcloganm@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University

Dr. Benjamin Toll, State Relations Officer
650 W. Easterday Avenue
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906) 635-2202

btoll@lssu.edu

 

Michigan State University
Dr. Kathy Wilbur, Executive Vice President for Government and External Relations
Office of Governmental Affairs
Hannah Administration Bldg., Rm. 484
426 Auditorium
East Lansing, MI 48824-1046
(517) 353-9000

schlage6@msu.edu

 

David W. Bertram, Associate Vice President for State Affairs

Office of Governmental Affairs
Hannah Administration Bldg., Rm. 484
426 Auditorium

East Lansing, MI 48824-1046
(517) 353-3228

dbertram@msu.edu

 

Michigan Technological University

Bill Kordenbrock, Vice President for Government Relations

1400 Townsend Drive

Houghton, MI 49931

(906) 281-2653

billk@mtu.edu


Dr. John Lehman, Vice President for University Relations and Enrollment

1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-1832

jblehman@mtu.edu

Northern Michigan University
R. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration
1401 Presque Isle Avenue - 502 Cohodas Administration Center
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-2200
gleach@nmu.edu

 

Deanna K. Hemmila

Executive Director of Government Relations

603 Cohodas Hall

Marquette, MI 49855

(906) 227-2637

dhemmila@nmu.edu

Oakland University
Rochelle Black, Vice President, Government Relations
117 Wilson Hall
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-4630
black@oakland.edu


Bonnie Bochniak, State Relations Director

110 W. Michigan Avenue, Suite 600

Lansing, MI 48933-1681

(517) 702-3368

bonniemaluchnik@oakland.edu

 

Saginaw Valley State University

John Kaczynski, Director, Governmental Affairs

SVSU Main Campus
Wickes Hall 346

(989) 964-7481

jlkaczyn@svsu.edu

 

The University of Michigan
Cynthia Wilbanks, Vice President for Government Relations
503 Thompson Street - Fleming Administration Building
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340
(734) 763-5554
wilbanks@umich.edu

 

Rebecca DeVooght, State Relations Director (Chair)

(734) 763-5554

devooghr@umich.edu

The University of Michigan-Dearborn
Ken Kettenbeil
Vice Chancellor for External Relations
University of Michigan-Dearborn
4901 Evergreen Rd. 1130 AB
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 593-5518
kketten@umich.edu

 

Mike Latvis

Government Relations Manager

Office of External Relations

4901 Evergreen Rd. 1130 AB

Dearborn, MI 48128

(313) 496-9152

latvism@umich.edu

 

The University of Michigan-Flint

Mia McNeil, Director of Government and Community Affairs

303 E. Kearsley Street

Flint, MI 48502

(810) 424-5448

miamc@umflint.edu


Wayne State University

Patrick O. Lindsey, Vice President for Government and Community Affairs
4155 Faculty Administration Building

656 West Kirby
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4228

patrick.lindsey@wayne.edu


Western Michigan University
Katie John, Assistant Vice President for Legislative Affairs
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5247
1903 West Michigan Avenue
(269) 387-3606
katie.john@wmich.edu