2009 Professor of the Year Award Recipients Announced

2009 Professor of the Year Award Recipients Announced
2009 Professor of the Year Award Recipients Announced
The Distinguished Professor of the Year Award selection committee has made their decision and it was an extremely tough choice. The committee, including Gayle Davis of GVSU, Virinder K. Moudgil of OU, Jack Kay of UM-F, and Tim Greene of WMU, chose the following three professors to receive the award. The Presidents Council would like to congratulate Dr. Erik Goodman of Michigan State University, Dr. Eddie Cheng of Oakland University, and Dr. Steven Wright of University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

Dr. Erik Goodman, Michigan State University

Photo of Dr. Erik Goodman

Dr. Erik Goodman, Department of Electrical and Computer engineering, helped establish MSU as a leader in ecological modeling. He has mentored Rhodes Scholarship winners, Churchill Scholarship winners, and an National Science Foundation graduate fellowship.

He is the academic advisor for half of the honor student in the computer engineering major. He also teaches  the senior capstone design course in Electrical and Computer Engineering where he introduced industrial sponsored projects with public presentations at ECE Design Day. He places emphasis on guiding students into undergraduate research experience, study abroad, and enrollment in graduate classes.

Dr. Eddie Cheng, Oakland University

Photo of Eddie Cheng

Dr. Eddie Cheng, department of mathematics and statistics, has integrated his research and desire to advance student learning and academic success for graduate, undergraduate, and even high school students. He is the director of the Oakland University Summer Mathematics Institute, a 6 week summer camp for bright high school students from Southeast Michigan.

Dr. Cheng received the Distinguished Teaching Award of the Michigan Section of the Mathematical Association of America in 2007.


Dr. Steven Wright, University of Michigan- Ann Arbor

Photo of Steven WrightAs a Professor of engineering, Dr. Steven Wright has successfully incorporated engineering ethics and environmental issues into his courses. He effectively involves his own research and studies on sustainable development in Chili into the required first year class as well as upper level seminars.


Dr. Wright has won numerous teaching awards from U of M students, the department of civil and environmental engineering, the college of engineering, and the 2006 Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship award: the University's highest level award for undergraduate education.


The Presidents Council would like to thank the selection committee as well as all participating universities for their time and support.

Posted on Wednesday, April 08, 2009 (Archive on Friday, May 15, 2009)
Posted by   Contributed by